Liebster Award

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by both Soapy Photo Girl & Jess Crandon. Thanks for that guys, it was really nice of you as I am pretty new to blogging and good to know that some people find some of my ramblings of interest! 🙂

I am copying this next section from Soapy Photo Girl.

How to Accept the Award:

Liebster is a German word that means beloved and valued and it is for blogs with fewer than 200 followers.

“Here are the rules for accepting the award:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  4. Create 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate.
  5. Choose 11 bloggers with 200 or less followers to nominate and include links to their blogs.
  6. Go to each bloggers page and let them know you have nominated them.”

I’m not going to to do the 11 random facts as I realised I have 22 questions to answer and don’t want you all to have fallen asleep before the end of this post!

11 Bloggers to nominate

Well I don’t follow that many blogs yet but I have put the links to the ones I do below, I also wasn’t sure about putting in the non-Wordpress blogs so I have left them out.

http://thehorsewrotehistory.wordpress.com/

http://medalslut.com/

http://thedoublelifeofmrsm.wordpress.com/

http://therodneydiaries.wordpress.com/

Now to those questions, firstly the ones from Soapy Photo Girl

Assuming anyone who reads this has an opinion on the matter (it’s a safe bet, I think!), what is your favourite thing about horses?

Hmmm that’s a tough one. I think it might be the way that I feel when I ride, when you get the connection with the horse. So I suppose their mind, if that doesn’t sound too weird? I accept it sounds pretty weird.

How old were you when you had your first riding experience and what do you remember most clearly about it?
I have the memory of a goldfish but due to photographic evidence I know as a toddler I was sitting on a horse. My earliest memory is actually a bad one! I was riding a small Shetland pony at the first stables I rode at and the girth wasn’t tight enough. My saddle slipped almost fully around and my pony bolted with me being dragged along. I remember my dad shouting from the viewing stands and me crying… a lot.Put me off for a couple of years.
Do you feel that your riding endeavours are building up to a pursuit of any particular discipline, and if so what?
I would love to do TREC. Totally appeals with the idea of you and horse working together. That said I have been enjoying the beginner dressage elements we have been incorporating into lessons.
Do you currently have any pets at home? Please give details.
Nope but I would love a dog, however so far Mr Inelegant Horse Rider is putting his foot down.
Do you practice any other ‘sporting’ activities in your leisure time? Again, spill the beans, s’il vous plaît.
As can be seen from the blog I am a relatively keen runner. I also like skiing and mountain biking although I haven’t been for a while.
What kind of music do you like to listen to?
I will give anything a listen but I do love heavy metal and rock music plus 90s indie.
If you could visit any country in the world, where would it be and why?
Another tough one, used to be China – I love Chinese history especially political history although now I am really keen on going to Japan too. Unfortunately I am scared of flying so I am going nowhere any time soon.
Describe your relationship with footwear.
I adore shoes. I have a collection, it is small but beautiful. I like striking shoes, they have to make me smile!
Do you have an opinion on My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic and, if so, which of the six core ponies is your favourite?
I loved My Little Pony when I was wee. I can’t remember her name but my favourite had cherries marked on her flank.
Tacos or burritos?
Tacos I guess, not a fan of burritos.
If we were marooned together on a desert island with only coconuts, lizards, doc leaves, sand and bits of driftwood for entertainment, how would you use these things to create an entertainment spectacle that would delight me and keep me distracted until the rescue boat arrived?
I would organise the lizards into a Monty Python tribute group and enact the whole of the Holy Grail with me playing the coconuts as horses hooves.

11 questions from Jess Crandon

1. Why do you blog?

I have been thinking about this one and part of the reason is that I needed a way of documenting what I had done. I have a hard time not getting frustrated whether with my running or riding and as my instructor and friends have pointed out ‘not seeing what I have achieved’. So my blog is partly that. It also started as a way for me to take part in the Wartime Wardrobe challenge and connect with others who share the same interests as me.
2. How seriously do you take yourself?

Not very seriously. Much more fun just to roll with it and be daft!
3. Books, films, or TV?

Books and TV?? I love my books but you can’t beat a bit of TV, a good TV series is enthralling.
4. The best advice you’ve ever been given?

I was always told to accept that some people wouldn’t like me and that that was fine, just to accept it and don’t give it another thought. Basically my mum and dad taught me that it was more important to have a good solid group of friends and people you can rely on rather than try to be all things to all people.
5. The best advice you could give someone?

Probably the same as above!
6. Favourite season?

I like Autumn, and I like winter too but really only if it is either crisp or snowing. I love the snow!
7. Do you think things through, or just say yes?

I have learnt to think things through. 🙂
8. What’s your biggest regret – or do you not believe in them?

Hmmm tough one as I reckon that the choices you make take you to where you are in life but it is human nature to have regrets. One big regret would be not spending as much time with my Granddad when I could.
9. Who’s your biggest inspiration?

I’m not sure, I think I have lots of them from the obvious (my parents) to the sports related (Kathrine Switzer amongst many others) to the politics related (Patrick Harvie) and many more beyond.
10. Five famous people (dead or alive) that you’d invite out for coffee?

Heath Ledger, Jeff Buckley, Mary King, Chairman Mao and Coco Chanel. It would be a weird yet interesting chat!

11. Why do you ride/are you involved with horses?

I do ride. It is one of those things that will clear your head entirely and when you are flat out in gallop across a beach it is hard to take the smile off your face. (Although in my case it is usually mixed with fear too :))

My eleven questions in case anyone fancies answering them, totally up to yourselves I read your blogs anyway 🙂

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. What, if any, sports do you do and why?
  3. Who do you admire in the sporting world?
  4. Do you horse ride, if you do what is the thing you enjoy most about it?
  5. What was the last thing you made?
  6. If you are a runner do you enter races and if you do what kind of distances do you enjoy?
  7. Favourite food?
  8. Any TV show or film that you think everyone must see?
  9. Going to steal another of Jess’s questions here, Five famous people (dead or alive) that you’d invite out for coffee?
  10. What is your favourite place to visit and why?
  11. Finally, totally random, what was your favourite kids show when you were growing up?
Leave a Reply

