Oh so that’s where my style was, it is always in the last place you look

For the past year (almost) I have been feeling particularly patchy about my style. In fact I am pretty confident I don’t have any at the moment. I have tried many challenges, tried to work through activities to help me define my style and talked about it so much I may have lost friends due to it (only kidding, or at least I think I am only kidding).

The last challenge and exercise I have been trying out have been some of the most fun ones I have come across. Both I have found via the great blog I recently discovered Sustainability in Style, a really inspiring blog and I would recommend having a read if you are interested in ethical and sustainable style.

The first I have tried has been the 30 day Who What Wear challenge. I have been enjoying it, I haven’t been doing it religiously as some of the challenges I haven’t been able to do. Also not owning a full length mirror or really being able to take a decent photo of my outfit has let me down slightly for taking pictures (see my interesting outfit photos below) but it has been fun and interesting trying to put different outfits together. I will keep going with this one.

Me in a mirror
Rapanui tshirt & clothes swap cardi, with my beloved Howies jeans
Me in a mirror
Showing off some of my shoes, just wait the shoe collection will get an airing on the blog shortly
Selfie of me in a bowler hat
This challenge was to wear the hat you don’t think you can pull off – I actually really like this hat and will wear it more

The other thing I have been trying is to do the Into Mind website exercises to try and understand what my style is. I will hold my hands up here and say that I have found it difficult to actually sit down and do these exercises but I can see how this would be of benefit. I *will* do this though.

Although at the end of all of these challenges and activities it was my lovely friend Roz who I met on Saturday who made me realise that I actually might not be in such a style funk as I thought. She laughed when I said I didn’t think I had any style at the moment and said that she felt I always had a particular style and over recent years I have toned down my clashing prints but that she felt I tend to be casual but with bright colours and prints, that I wear items in different ways to how it might be expected. That was really nice to hear, the more I think about it the more I start to think I do know what my style is! I like prints and while I adore my heels I like to be active so love flat shoes to run around in or shoes I can use on my bike. I really like the 50s style of turnups, never really realised I have turned up the hems on nearly all the trousers I have πŸ™‚

Still reckon I have a wee bit to go to work out style for things such as future purchases and what to keep and what might make its way onwards to friends, family and charity. I think I might have been inspired to do a new and more full-on challenge but more on that shortly.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Oh so that’s where my style was, it is always in the last place you look”

  1. Love the Rapanui T shirt, I had been considering buying that too!

    It can be really hard to put an exact definition on your style. I know I have struggled with that. I love bright colours and prints but sometimes just want to wear neutrals. I wear lots of accessories and stuff to brighten up my outfits too but would find it very difficult to describe exactly in words. For charity shopping, I have found it useful to work out which styles of clothes and colours suit me best so that I can find what I need quickly. So cropped cardigans and tailored jackets, shift dresses, princess line and emperor line. I also know bold reds, greens, oranges and yellows or black & navy tends to suit me much better than pastels or muted colours. I also prefer skirts to be maxi or above the knee and necklines high and tops sleeveless.

    1. You should definitely get the wolfpack tshirt, it is one of my favourite tshirts in summer. I also have a Rapanui tshirt with a badger in a hat on it! I love that brand.
      I am still a bit in the whole ‘oh my god, that’s cheap and a great brand’ phase of 2nd hand shopping. πŸ™‚ I think I am getting better now. Although perhaps I shouldn’t say that as I have just got a jumpsuit on eBay – this may all go horribly wrong! I definitely have a better idea of what suits me colour/print wise but still a bit iffy on the shapes.

  2. Love the Rapanui T shirt!

    It can be really hard to put an exact definition on your style. I know I have struggled with that. I love bright colours and prints but sometimes just want to wear neutrals. I wear lots of accessories and stuff to brighten up my outfits too but would find it very difficult to describe exactly in words. For charity shopping, I have found it useful to work out which styles of clothes and colours suit me best so that I can find what I need quickly. So cropped cardigans and tailored jackets, shift dresses, princess line and emperor line. I also know bold reds, greens, oranges and yellows or black & navy tends to suit me much better than pastels or muted colours. I also prefer skirts to be maxi or above the knee and necklines high and tops sleeveless.

Leave a Reply

