My Vintage Sewing Pledge 2016

If you follow me on Instagram you will have seen that for my birthday I received a sewing machine! I decided to get a Janome CXL301, which is a computerised one – part of me still hankers after an old fashioned basic one, in fact a treadle one would be brilliant but let’s be realistic something that helps me sew button holes is always going to be helpful. It is also the machine I used at my dressmaking class I took B.C. (you know, before Chop 🙂 ), I loved the fact that it has an adjustable speed for the foot pedal and the set up of it was a breeze. Of course the fact I had the lovely Rachel to advise probably helped there.

Now I have the machine you would be forgiven for thinking I am sewing constantly, well not yet. Circumstances mean that it is just me and the pup at home currently and I want to start using it while I have Mr IHR around to distract Chop during the first couple of uses! I have been making plans though. I have to admit I find it difficult to stop myself from buying the cool harris tweed I saw and trying to sew a vintage shirt dress but I am slowly accepting that you need to learn! That I will make mistakes but I should start small and build my skills.

This all helps with my no new clothes for a year challenge, I’ve had to reset twice but this is me on my third month. My challenge excludes making new clothes and any fabric I buy but I am still trying to be restrained. This challenge has already made me realise some things about my habits and I will try to pull my muddled thoughts together into a post for my quarter review 🙂

With a view to practising restraint and learning new skills I am going to try and take part in the Vintage Pledge this year. The Vintage Pledge is run by A Stitching Odyssey and Kestrel Makes and has been running for a few years now. I only heard about it later on in the year last year as I started to fill my Bloglovin’ feed with sewing blogs. I plan to make 2 vintage or reproduction patterns. That’s the only rule for this pledge – “the only ‘rule’ is that you must use vintage or reproduction patterns”. I have one reproduction pattern already and just bought a 70s skirt pattern from eBay – now I have to make something before buying anymore!!

I’m quite excited by this. Before I get carried away though I want to try and make basic cushion covers, machine-washable so that I can clean them after Chop has been cuddled up on the sofa with us. I do plan to try and sew 6 items in total this year:

  • A top – this one if possible!
  • Cushion covers
  • Bandana for Chop
  • A skirt
  • A dress
  • Trousers

I am aware these are loose categories but that’s the way I think I should approach this and I would love to make more gifts for people this year. All the time I will be focusing on items I will wear and fit with my style, the Colette Wardrobe Architect has really helped me to pinpoint my style more, hopefully no more items made but never worn. Time to learn again!

vintagepledge2016_300

2 thoughts on “My Vintage Sewing Pledge 2016”

  1. This is very exciting! I’m definitely looking forward to hearing about how you get on. I went to a craft show with Mum yesterday and bought my first sewing machine (a cheap Singer). I have a patchwork quilt that I want to make (and don’t want to hand sew the patches, as it’s a king sized quilt!). It arrives on Wednesday, and I can’t wait!

    1. That sounds excellent, I haven’t ever done any quilting but it sounds like something I would be quite up for! I think I’ll start small though. I just bought my fabric and notions for my first project and cut out the pattern pieces, the only problem is that the puppy wants to play with everything!

Leave a Reply

